The Municipal town of Shimla, the head quarter of the district and summer capital of India during British regime, is situated on a range of entirely mountainous Middle Himalayas which forms the last treverse spur of the Central Himalayas, south of the River Satluj. Geographically, Shimla lies at 30° 6’ North latitude and 77° 11’ East longitude, and its mean elevation is 2397.59m above msl. The existing town resembles an irregular crescent with an 9.2 km extension from one end to the other, covering a total area of 19.55 Shimla town is situated in a seismic belt (Seismic Zone IV) as per IS-1893.

 The eastern portion of the town is Chotta Shimla while the extreme western side is called Boileauganj. An outlying northern spur running at right angles to the main ridge is Elysium Hill. Five and half kilometers from the western end of the station is outlying hills of Jutogh.

This town is spread over seven hill spurs. The average elevation above mean sea level and the name of the spurs are given below.



Hill Spur.  Elevation(m). 
Jakhoo Hill  2454 
Elysium Hill  2257 
Museum Hill  2201 
Prospect Hill  2177 
Observatory Hill                       2150 
Summer Hill  2104 
Potters Hill  2073 

These spurs are interconnected by roads. The important character of the road network circumscribing these hills is that it is connected to the Mall road from Boileauganj to Chotta Shimla.